Starfish Anus, Sea-Star Butt

During a hectic visit to the California Academy Of Sciences in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, I took this picture of my sister petting a starfish –excuse me, a sea star. (The Steinhart Aquarium –the aquatic section of the Academy– exhibits a tide pool where animals are available for gentle handling.)  Only later in the day did I inform my sister that she had been fondling the sea-star’s anus.  She asked my why I hadn’t informed her at the time.  I suppose I just assumed everyone knows basic sea-star anatomy –that the anus is dorsally located, at the center of the disc. She wasn’t too perturbed. No harm done.  But a good reason not to forget the hand sanitizer.  And it does go to show that invertebrates are not given their due.

Just an afterthought, but I think Starfish Anus would be an excellent name for a rock band.

1 Comment

Filed under Biology

One response to “Starfish Anus, Sea-Star Butt

  1. I will right away grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me realize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

